RIP Fellow Kenyans: Y is Still Part of the Alphabet


By The Constant Little Jimmy

 

This time I just can’t follow,

The rules of poetry; I once learned in linguistic classes.

I have never worn glasses,

Yet today I feel I am in some.

When I try to take the sum,

Of all the lives we lost.

Y is a part of the alphabets,

But normally pronounced as;

Why?

Sometimes we say it,

though we aren’t counting the alphabets.

But then God is there.

 

Our tears,

Our fears,

All our years,

He knows them all.

Even our peers,

Children and women;

Who we all lost,

To the hungry flames.

To the pipeline frames.

We blame Lunga Lunga,

Even the name scares me.

It sound foreign, some funny goddess.

Y is a letter in the alphabet,

Pronounced as Why?

Yet we say it when we are not counting.

But again God was there.

 

Every time I read the sacred book,

I get energy to dance in the rain,

To sing in the storm.

To jump over deep waters,

To dive; risk drowning.

Remembering your promises to Noah,

The father of nations.

But the thought of fire,

It makes me shiver.

Remembering the promises,

During the end.

That fire will come,

And burn the sinners.

Father, I know not only Kenyans are sinners.

The Ngalu Ngalu tragedy,

Were our sins due for punishment?

This is why Y will remain,

A letter in the alphabet,

Yet we are not counting them,

But again God loves Kenya!

 

Yes!

I just said that.

And if you didn’t get it,

God loves Kenya.

Look,

How long is the pipe that busted?

What length busted?

How many people resides in Ngalu ngalu?

(Am scared of saying L***A L***A)

How many died?

How many people are admitted in KNH?

How many have been discharged?

Y is a letter in the alphabet.

And for this reason I won’t use it here.

Since I am not counting.

 

May God,

The comforter,

Creator of heaven and earth,

The author and the finisher,

Of human life,

Comfort us this very moment.

Nourish our souls.

Strengthen our hearts.

Rest their souls,

In eternal peace.

And since we meet them again father,

Help us understand,

That Y is the third last letter on the alphabet.

And we shall never use it,

Except when we are counting.

 

RIP Brothers and Sisters.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

