Martha aka Thatcher Karua: Is Change Here? by Alffie


After the recent by-election wins for Narc-K in the name on Mike Sonko and Kabogo most of the headlines were all centered on Martha Karua being the new third force. Almost felt like the English Premier league with Chelsea or some inconsequential team breaking into the elite’s club whose members were (still is despite 5 year hiccups of one member) Arsenal and Manchester United.

Predictably, the small issue of  “a running mate” cropped up! For me, this brings a whole new dynamic in Kenyan politics. The Americans have had this practice since they sought democracy but in Kenya, where the notion of democracy is still a foreign concept, this might be tricky for aspiring presidential candidates.

I’ll come right out and say that I’ll vote for Martha W. Karua for reasons I choose not to address here (but will..eventually). I however have a concern in light of the issue of ‘running mate!!’ Who in Narc-K would be suitable to be her running mate..Danson Mungatana? Mike Sonko? Kabogo?…The last two just won their respective constituency battle and are undoubtedly a big plus to the Narc-K fraternity…more significantly for the money they bring in. So in terms of funding…I’m confident that my preferred candidate is well covered.

But I still don’t see a suitable running mate. You might be of the opinion that she joins forces with some other strong individual like Bill Ruto for example..well, mathematically..that would be a good move but I don’t see that happening. At #mindspeak August 2010 edition, the “Iron lady” expressly stated that that kind of politics is one of the things she’s fighting against and so to partake of it would be a blow to her integrity. I was to ask her this question on that #mindspeak edition but I missed that bus.

Martha’s campaign strategy is admirable thus far…interracting with the electorate especially via social media and forums like #mindspeak. Her stand on the new constitution & her defence of the same showed maturity and a grasp at the implications & intepretations of the then draft constitution that few even dared to exhibit. I remember the first question that was addressed to her at #mindspeak was “Have you ever been corrupt?” to which she answered.. “No!” Whether or not that is true I can’t tell but her confidence in that answer under no pressure whatsoever spoke volumes to me and the audience as a whole. These are some of the reasons I’ve in a matter of speaking already picked her as my candidate of choice. Another reason would be that she’s not from a political ‘dynasty’ as it is with most of the other probable candidates save maybe for Bifwoli Wakoli & maybe Bill Ruto (not sure about this though).

I find her more principled than the other politicians but therein lies the potential problem. Anyone who she picks as a running mate would most likely tarnish her campaign as she has set to high a standard. The recent Kabogo-Sonko wins are good for Narc-K and her presidential bid probably but I still believe the choice of running mate would make a very big difference especially for her..

So the question still stands: Who will be her running mate? Do I think she can win? I really do think she can & so does she. Will she win?..For that we’ll have to hope the Mayan 2012 prophesy isn’t true as we wait to see.

Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. What we need is change, and change is coming. That is all I can say!

    Reply
  2. dyiembo

     /  September 29, 2010

    Am not too good with politics but Martha Karua wouldn’t be my choice for whatever reasons.

    Reply
  3. Dee…any particular reason why not?

    Reply
  1. Tweets that mention Martha aka Thatcher Karua: Is Change Here? by Alffie « The Alternative Focus -- Topsy.com
  2. My 5 Links | The Alternative Focus

Leave a Reply

